The winner of Nordic Photobook Award (previously known as the Nordic Dummy Award) 2018 is Ole Nesset with his book Unburdened migration. The announcement of the winner took place at Reykjavik Museum of Photography, Iceland, on Thursday April 21. The book will be published by Kehrer Verlag, Heidelberg, later this year.

Jury statement:
“Through a multi-disciplinary poetic approach to the difficult political situation under heavy scrutiny around the world today, Unburdened Migration offers a unique opportunity to discuss migratory movements from a wider perspective, beyond the constrictions determined by conflicting world politics.

Nesset's manipulation of photography is quite exceptional, determining a stunning revisionary approach to photography as foundational to the arts. It interconnects art, philosophy, photography and scientific diagrams, where photography does not only take a leading role, but is an essential element of the structure – the result being a «Gesamtkunstwerk». By interconnecting disciplines, and relieving systematic and traditional categories, this book project confronts global thinking in its Western-driven categorisation.

Nesset's work looks for the fragilities and trepidations of our societies as a source of wonder both in subject matter and in the available technologies at hand to open unforeseen paths. These are the reasons behind proposing Nesset's Unburdened Migration for publication in 2019, for its unique conceptual and formal approach to photography.”

The jury for Nordic Photobook Award 2018 consisted of Katrín Elvarsdóttir (Artist and Co-Director & Co-Founder of The Icelandic Photography Festival, Reykjavik, Iceland); Annika von Hausswolff (Artist and Professor in Photography at Valand Academy, Gothenburg, Sweden); Katarina Skjønsberg (Artist, Norway); Tuukka Kaila (Artist and Co-Founder of Rooftop Press, Helsinki, Finland); Jesper Rasmussen (Artist and former Rector of the Jutland Art Academy, Aarhus, Denmark) and Antonio Cataldo (Artistic Director, Fotogalleriet, Oslo, Norway).

The jury selected a shortlist of candidates whose work will be on an extensive tour throughout the Nordic countries. The nominees are Øystein Agerlie (NO) Celeste Arnstedt & Petter Wessel (DK) Theo Elias (SE) August Eriksson (SE) Anna Hyvärinen (DK) Ole Nesset (NO) Steffen Kloster Poulsen (DK) Matilde Søes Rasmussen (SE) Tina Umer (SE).

The nominated books are on tour to the following institutions:

15. – 23.09.2018
Landskrona Foto Festival (SE)

28. & 29.09.2018
Fotobok Gbg 18, Göteborg (SE)

04.10. – 07.10.2018
Photobookweek Aarhus/ Galleri Image, Aarhus (DK)

15.10. – 28.10.2018
The Finnish Museum of Photography, Helsinki (FI)

05. – 18.11.2018
Northern Photographic Centre, Oulu (FI)

26.11. – 16.12.2018
Centrum För Fotografi, Stockholm (SE)

18. – 20.01.2019
Tromsø Kunstforening, Tromsø (NO)

28.01. – 10.02.2019
Galleri Format, Malmö (SE)

19.02. – 03.03.2019
Fotografisk Center, København (DK)

16. – 26.03.2019
Reykjavik Museum of Photography, Reykjavik (IS) → WINNER ANNOUNCEMENT

08. – 21.04.2019
Kristiansand Kunsthall, Kristiansand (NO)

29.04. – 12.05.2019
Hordaland Kunstsenter, Bergen (NO)